Service Alerts

Visit your neighbourhood library branch for programs, meeting space, borrowing and more.
Free, fun March Break programs for your family!
Has your Library Card expired?

2014 National Book Awards

book cover image: Age of Ambition: chasing fortuen, truth, and faith in the new China

The 65th annual National Book Awards were held on Wednesday, November 19 in New York City.  Many awards and acknowledgements were presented including the Literarian Award to Kyle Zimmer, the founder of the Washington, D.C. - based nonprofit First Book.  First Book has provided 120 million books to low-income kids and families in Canada and the U.S.  Award winners for the greatest American literary works of the past year are:

Nonfiction Winner:  Evan Osnos, Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China.

Poetry Winner:  Louis Gluck, Faithful and Virtuous Night.

Young People's Literature:  Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming.


Related content: Staff PicksNon-Fiction, Fiction, Literature: Poetry, Kids' I like to Read, Teens' Great Reads