Service Alerts

Visit your neighbourhood library branch for programs, meeting space, borrowing and more.
Free, fun March Break programs for your family!
Has your Library Card expired?

The RBC Taylor Prize Winner is...

book cover image: they left us everything

Plum Johnson's They Left Us Everything

Every year, the RBC Taylor Prize - Canada' s most prestigious award for literary non-fiction - celebrates excellence in Canadian non-fiction writing by honouring an outstanding English language author. The prize consists of $25,000 and a crystal trophy for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the runners-up as well as extensive national publicity and promotional support to help all books stand out in the national media and book retailers across the country.

Plum Johnson's They Left Us Everything is an account of caring for her beyond-difficult parents and the aftermath of their deaths - an encounter with intertwined memory and mess in a stuffed-to-bursting 23-room house above the shore of Lake Ontario.  This is a story of love and lose, and legacy, and a story that resounds with many people now as they close the doors on childhood memories and experiences. 

Johnson faced stiff competition from the other finalists:


One day in august

David O'Keefe for One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada's Tragedy at Dieppe



The last asylum

Barbara Taylor for The Last Asylum: A Memoir of Madness in our Times


And Home was Kariakoo

M.G. Vassanji for And Home Was Kariakoo: A Memoir of East Africa


Kathleen Winter for Boundless

Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian artists, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will again grant the RBC Taylor Prize Emerging Writers Award.  The winner selected by the shortlisted authors will receive a $10,000 cash prize and the opportunity to be mentored under the 2015 RBC Taylor Prize Winner.

Good reading all around so be sure to sign out a few of the above authors.  You won't be disappointed.