Service Alerts

NEW! Now you can renew your Library card online
We're OPEN! NEW hours at all locations starting October 18. Proof of vaccination NOT required to use Library at this time.
Starting Nov 1, your Library Card # and Library PIN will be needed to use OverDrive and Libby. This PIN is the same one used to access other digital Library resources.
Print from Home now available!
Your Library is now FINE FREE!

If you liked the Rosie books...

book cover image   book cover image

I finally got around to reading Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and it's follow-up The Rosie Effect. I devoured the first book, and while the second didn't quite live up to my expectations, it was still a great read.

The Rosie Project revolves around Don Tillman, a brilliant genetics professor whose intelligence and logical thinking does not extend into social situations. Realizing the statistical probability that the perfect partner exists somewhere, Don begins "The Wife Project", a 16 page questionnaire to be administered to potential romantic partners.

When Don meets Rosie Jarman and agrees to help her with her quest to find her father, both of their lives take unexpected turns.

The fast-paced writing style, the loveable characters, and a mix of humourous and heartwarming events made these books really enjoyable reads.

If you liked the Rosie books then you might like these ones as well!

 

Two across by Jeffrey Bartsch (2015)

book cover image


Stanley and Vera formed a bond when, as teenagers, they tied for first place in the National Spelling Bee. Fighting against the futures that their controlling parents have pre-determined for them, Stanley orchestrates a sham wedding to Vera in the hopes that it will allow him to pursue his dream career in crossword puzzle construction.

However, Stanley is unaware of Vera's feelings for him and unintentionally pushes her away. Desperate to reconnect with her, Stanley attempts to communicate with Vera through crossword puzzle clues.

Just as in the Rosie books, a socially awkward man is challenged by an independent woman in a heartwarming yet humourous novel.



What in God's name by Simon Rich (2012)

book cover image


What if God suddenly decided to give up on humanity and destroy Earth? Angels Craig and Eliza who work in the Department of Miracles encounter this very dilemma. Desperate to save Earth, the angels make a bet with God; if they can perform one impossible miracle, then He will spare Earth. Unfortunately for Craig and Eliza, that miracle is getting Sam and Laura, the two most socially awkward humans, to fall in love.

This book is a bit quirky but delivers a humourous story with interesting characters. Similar to the Rosie books, it is an easy read and a feel-good story.



Addition by Toni Jordan (2008)

book cover image


Grace has obsessive compulsive disorder and her world is controlled by numbers. Counting everything from the strokes required to brush her teeth, to the number of poppy seeds in her orange cake, Grace's habits have impeded her ability to keep a job or a relationship.

Things begin to change when Grace meets Seamus, an Irishman whom she is unexpectedly attracted to. The potential relationship forces Grace to confront her OCD and how her life might alter if she were to receive treatment, both in the positive and the negative.

Like the Rosie books, Addition is both heartwarming and humourous. Both books contain interesting characters who have unexpected relationships which lead to personal growth.



**If you are looking for other read alikes, your library card grants you access to a wonderful resource called NoveList which can help you find your next great read.

Happy reading!