Service Alerts

Visit your neighbourhood library branch for programs, meeting space, borrowing and more.
Register now for Free Fall Programs!
Has your Library Card expired?

The Canadian Jewish Literary Awards

The first Canadian Jewish Literary Awards were presented on October 18, 2015 at York University in Toronto.  The winners represented writers of the finest books with Jewish themes and subjects by Canadian authors in a variety of genres.  This award platform was created to fill the void left when, in the fall of 2014, the Koffler Centre for the Arts - long-time administrators of the Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Awards - announced their suspension.

The recognition of its literature and culture helps keep the Jewish community in Canada strong and vibrant.  The Awards do more than reward winning authors with a cash prize.  They build pride in the individuals being honoured and in the creative achievements that reflect Jewish themes and ideas.

The winners were:

Novel:  Nora God, for Fields of Exile

Scholarship: James A. Diamond, for Maimonides and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon

Biography/Memoir: Alison Pick, for Between Gods: A Memoir

History: Joseph Hodes, for From India to Israel: Identity, Immigration, and the Struggle for Religious Equality

Youth Literature: Suri Rosen, for Playing with Matches

Poetry: Robyn Sarah, for My Shoes Are Killing Me

Holocaust Literature: Beverley Chalmers, for Birth, Sex and Abuse: Women's Voices Under Nazi Rule

Short Fiction, Mireille Silcoff, for Chez l'Arabe

Yiddish: Ruth Panofsky, for The Collected Poems of Miriam Waddington: A Critical Edition