Service Alerts

Starting Jan 18, all locations except Carson, Glanworth & Lambeth are OPEN for borrowing and computer use starting Jan 18. Visits limited to 60 minutes max. Masks & distancing required

We’re having issues with our phone system. If you’re having trouble getting through to us by phone, please email us at

Is your Library card expiring? Check your account for an expiry message.
If your Library account is expiring, you can renew online. If you don’t have an expiry message, you do not need to renew.
Print from Home now available!
Your Library is now FINE FREE!

Questions and Answers on Government

Federal Government

Q: What is Canada's Form of Government?
A: Canada is a parliamentary democracy.

Q: Who is Canada's Head of State?
A: Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Q: Who is the Governor General?
A: The Governor General is the representative of the Queen for all Canada. Her name is Julie Payette.

Q: Who is Canada's Head of Government?
A: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Q: What party is currently in power?
A: Liberal Party of Canada

Q: Which party is the Official Opposition?
A:Conservative Party of Canada

Q: Who is the Leader of the Opposition?
A: Erin O'Toole

Q: What are the other opposition parties and their leaders?
A:  National Democratic Party- Jagmeet Singh
     Bloc Québécois -  Yves Francois Blanchet
     Green Party - Annamie Paul

Q: Who is my representative (MP) in Ottawa?
A: Lindsay Matthyssen – London Fanshawe
    Peter Fragiskatos – London North Centre
    Kate Young – London West
    Karen Vecchio - Elgin-Middlesex-London

Provincial Government

Q: Who is Ontario's Head of State?
A: Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Q: Who is the Lieutenant Governor?
A: The Lieutenant Governor is the representative of the Queen for Ontario. Her name is Elizabeth Dowdeswell.

Q: Who is Ontario's Head of Government?
A: Premier Doug Ford

Q: Which provincial party is in power?
A: Ontario Progressive Conservative Party

Q: What is the provincial opposition party and its leader?
A:  Ontario NDP Party - Andrea Horwath

Q: Who is my provincial Member of Parliament (MPP)?
A: Teresa Armstrong - London Fanshawe
  Terence Kernaghan – London North Centre
   Peggy Satler – London West
  Jeff Yurek - Elgin-Middlesex-London

Municipal Government

Q: What is the name of the municipality where I live?
A: City of London

Q: Who is the head of the municipal government?
A: The Mayor.  His name is Ed Holder.

Q: Who are our City Councillors?
A: See City of London Councillors and Ward Maps